Diana Tishchenko wins Long-Thibaud-Crespin competition

Diana Tishchenko has won the Long-Thibaud-Crespin competition. The Ukrainian violinist collected a cheque for €25,000.

In addition to finishing first she was also awarded the Warner Classics & Erato prize, which will see her make a recording for those labels. Further, Tishchenko receives a J B Guadagnini violin on loan and benefits from a number of concert bookings.

Earlier this year she finished third in the Shanghai Isaac Stern International Violin Competition, while in 2017 she won the Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Music Academy Competition in Berlin. She currently studies with Boris Kuschnir at the Kunstuniversität Graz.

Second prize was awarded to Mayumi Kanagawa (US), while third went to Russian violinist Dmitry Smirnov. Smirnov also won the award for best interpretation of new commission Autumn Rhythm.

The jury was made up of Renaud Capuçon (president), Alena Baeva, Kolja Blacher, James Ehnes, Martin Engstroem, Linda Gourdjia, Jean-Jacques Kantorow, Guillaume Sutre, Akiko Suwanai, Yan Pascal Tortelier, Maxim Vengerov and Qian Zhou. Next year’s edition will focus on piano, followed by singing in 2020.


Get Our E-Newsletter - Weekly email news from International Arts Manager
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy